Consequences for Texting and Driving in Arkansas

It’s easy to get distracted in today’s world, especially when we’re on the road. Whether it’s calls and emails from work, kids, or friends, life doesn’t stop. Since April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, let’s take a look at a few of the consequences for texting and driving in Arkansas.

Arkansas Rules for Cell Phone Use While Driving

Drivers Under 18

Any driver under the age of 18 is not allowed to use a cellphone when operating a vehicle. Period.

Drivers Over 18, but Under 21

Drivers who are at least 18 years, but under 21, are not allowed to use a cellphone while driving. Those drivers are allowed however to use a hands-free device while driving.

Restrictions Within a School Zone

Drivers, of all ages, are not allowed to use cellphones while passing a school building or school zone during school hours when children are present and outside the building.

Restrictions Within a Highway Work Zone

Like school zones above, no driver is allowed to use a cellphone while driving through a highway work zone while a highway worker is present. 

Exceptions to the Law

Law enforcement officers, firefighters, or ambulance drivers, performing their official duties, are exempt from all the restrictions above previously listed.

Drivers under the age of 18 may only use a cellphone when operating a vehicle for emergency purposes only. Furthermore, any driver may use a cellphone while driving through a school or highway work zone during an emergency. 

Emergencies that qualify as expectations to the law include:

  • Reporting illegal activity
  • Summoning medical or other emergency assistance
  • Communications made to prevent injury to a person or property


Texting and driving fees carry the same maximum fines as the other cellphone tickets:

  • $25 to $250 for a first offense
  • $50 to $500 for a second offense
  • Any violation where a collision happens will result in the fine being doubled

Insure Your Car With Farm Bureau Insurance

Make sure you’re covered if you’re involved in a crash, whether it’s with a distracted driver or not. Talk to your Farm Bureau of Arkansas Insurance agent about protecting yourself with comprehensive auto insurance coverage. Get started by finding an agent near you.